Item added to your cart.

Long Time Traveller
Jeb Loy Nichols
On-U Sound
Catalogue Number
Release Date
February 5, 2016
  • Vinyl + Print:

    • Long Time Traveller Vinyl, 1×LP

    • Long Time Traveller Poster, Screen Print

    Available: February 5, 2016

Jeb Loy Nichols finally comes home to On-U Sound, the label he first befriended in 1981. A country/dub crossover record, backed by members of Dub Syndicate and the Roots Radics, and with Adrian Sherwood at the controls. The subtle dub production gives Jeb's careworn songs of love and loss a unique sound - this is Nashville-by-way-of-Kingston, Lee Hazlewood if he'd made an album with the Wailers, equal parts Johnny Cash and Horace Andy. 

Following a limited Japanese release in 2010, the album has been remixed, resequenced and redesigned to present the definitive edition of this sublime set of songs. A cult figure for fans of Americana, Jeb was born in the Midwest of the United States. His career has encompassed leading The Fellow Travellers (one of the first bands to be described as ‘alt country’), sleeve design for the Pressure Sounds reggae reissue label, compiling the acclaimed Country Got Soul series, writing a regular column for the Heavenly-affiliated Caught By The River periodical, and solo albums for Capitol, Decca, Rykodisc and Rough Trade. He now resides in rural Wales, where he spends his time making art, playing music, writing, worrying, digging holes and planting things.

Vinyl edition includes a download card for full contents plus 11 bonus tracks (same content as Disc 2 of the CD edition).

CD edition includes a bonus disc containing 11 additional songs and alternate mixes.

“The high priest of country cool” – Rolling Stone

LP Tracklist:

Side 1
01 - To Be Rich (Should Be A Crime)
02 - The Day You Came Over The Hill
03 - Mother Your Son
04 - I'm In Need Now
05 - Lonely King Of The Country

Side 2
01 - Poor Man's Prayer
02 - Mr. Nobody
03 - 97 Miles
04 - Moving Time
05 - Everything Is Different

CD Tracklist:

CD1 – Long Time Traveller
01 - To Be Rich (Should Be A Crime)
02 - The Day You Came Over The Hill
03 - Mother Your Son
04 - I'm In Need Now
05 - Lonely King Of The Country
06 - Poor Man's Prayer
07 - Mr. Nobody
08 - 97 Miles
09 - Moving Time
10 - Everything Is Different

CD2 – Bonus Tracks & Alternate Versions
01 – Salt Of A Fallen Tear
02 – Miss Moon
03 – Sweet Tough And Terrible
04 – This Dark Road
05 – 97 Miles (alternate mix)
06 – The Day You Came Over The Hill (alternate mix)
07 – Lonely King Of The Country (alternate mix)
08 – I’m In Need Now (alternate mix)
09 – Everything Is Different (alternate mix)
10 – Mother Your Son (alternate mix)
11 – Poor Man’s Prayer (alternate mix)

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 To Be Rich (Should Be A Crime) Jeb Loy Nichols 3:53 Buy

    To Be Rich (Should Be A Crime)

  2. 2 The Day You Came Over The Hill Jeb Loy Nichols 3:42 Buy

    The Day You Came Over The Hill

  3. 3 Mother Your Son Jeb Loy Nichols 4:30 Buy

    Mother Your Son

  4. 4 I'm In Need Now Jeb Loy Nichols 3:56 Buy

    I'm In Need Now

  5. 5 Lonely King Of The Country Jeb Loy Nichols 4:00 Buy

    Lonely King Of The Country

  6. 6 Poor Man's Prayer Jeb Loy Nichols 3:46 Buy

    Poor Man's Prayer

  7. 7 Mr. Nobody Jeb Loy Nichols 3:38 Buy

    Mr. Nobody

  8. 8 97 Miles Jeb Loy Nichols 4:15 Buy

    97 Miles

  9. 9 Moving Time Jeb Loy Nichols 3:42 Buy

    Moving Time

  10. 10 Everything Is Different Jeb Loy Nichols 3:29 Buy

    Everything Is Different

Show All Tracks 21

Jeb Loy Nichols

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences