Item added to your cart.

On-U Sound
Catalogue Number
Release Date
April 1, 2016
  • Vinyl 2×LP

    Sold out
    Read More
    • + WAV / FLAC


    • Gatefold sleeve
    • Download card redeemable from the label that includes two bonus tracks (same content as disc 2 of the CD edition)
  • CD 2×CD

    Sold out
    Read More
    • + WAV / FLAC


    • Includes 2nd CD Nisennenmondai at Unit, Tokyo, 18 April 2015, live dub mix by Adrian Sherwood

The new studio album #N/A (literally, Nisennenmondai with Adrian Sherwood) sees the cult Japanese trio filtering their epic motorik jams through the mixing desk of the legendary dub producer.

Nisennenmondai are three girls from Tokyo, Sayaka Himeno (drums), Yuri Zaikawa (bass) and Masako Takada (guitar), who have been playing instrumental music together since 1999. From their initial beginnings as a noisy no wave band openly referencing influences such as Sonic Youth, DNA and This Heat, they have since honed and streamlined their sound into a more minimalistic pulse with an emphasis on the hypnotic possibilities of repetition, creating a sound that can be likened to ‘organic techno’.

Recording their new album with Sherwood has resulted in them sounding bigger than ever before, with a greater emphasis on small rhythmic details and subtle dub touches, reminiscent in places of the classic Basic Channel sound.

This international edition of the album includes 2 bonus ‘live dub mixes’. Whilst Adrian showed considerable restraint in his production job on the studio album, on a subsequent live date at Tokyo’s Unit club he was recorded deploying a wild array of FX tricks, dropping in splashes of cavernous reverb and space echo delay to the performance of two pieces from the band’s previous album N’.

Mastered by Rashad Becker at Dubplates & Mastering in Berlin.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 #1 10:02 Buy


  2. 2 #2 15:40 Buy


  3. 3 #3 3:42 Buy


  4. 4 #4 6:39 Buy


  5. 5 #5 12:18 Buy


  6. 6 A' (live at Unit, 18 April 2015) 13:16 Buy

    A' (live at Unit, 18 April 2015)

  7. 7 B-1' (live at Unit, 18 April 2015) 11:56 Buy

    B-1' (live at Unit, 18 April 2015)


--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences