Item added to your cart.

Sherwood At The Controls: Volume 1 1979 - 1984
Various Artists
On-U Sound
Catalogue Number
Release Date
April 6, 2015
  • Compilation of early tracks produced or remixed by the legendary Adrian Sherwood; a pioneering blend of post-punk, mutant disco, dub, funk and electro.
  • Includes 6 tracks that have never been reissued in any format, and 2 completely unreleased tracks from the On-U vaults.
  • Features The Slits, Prince Far I, The Fall and Mark Stewart.
  • Extensive sleevenotes that tell the story of each track alongside photos and more.

Adrian Sherwood is a name most commonly associated with dub reggae, particularly his own leftfield version of the sound that he developed over the 80s and 90s, having been mentored by the likes of Prince Far I, Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry and Dennis Bovell, This compilation seeks to highlight another side of the story: in his capacity as a DJ and live sound engineer Sherwood also connected with the likes of The Clash, Public Image Limited and The Pop Group, and went on to work with a wide variety of artists including Depeche Mode, Nine Inch Nails, Primal Scream and Blur. The tracks on this album show how Sherwood blended a dubwise approach to versioning tracks with a desire to experiment in the studio and push musical boundaries.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Hungry, So Angry Medium Medium 3:56 Buy

    Hungry, So Angry

  2. 2 Let It Take You There Maximum Joy 6:02 Buy

    Let It Take You There

  3. 3 Some Day My Caliph Will Come Nadjma 3:42 Buy

    Some Day My Caliph Will Come

  4. 4 Learning To Cope With Cowardice (flexi version) Mark Stewart + The Maffia 3:53 Buy

    Learning To Cope With Cowardice (flexi version)

  5. 5 Middle Mass The Fall 3:31
  6. 6 Strange Clues Gardening By Moonlight 3:14 Buy

    Strange Clues

  7. 7 Mistah Linn He Dead Shriekback 4:10 Buy

    Mistah Linn He Dead

  8. 8 Running (Feeling Wild) [feat. Congo Ashanti Roy] Voice Of Authority 6:04 Buy

    Running (Feeling Wild) [feat. Congo Ashanti Roy]

  9. 9 Man Next Door The Slits 3:30 Buy

    Man Next Door

  10. 10 Third Gear Kills Annie Anxiety aka Little Annie 7:50 Buy

    Third Gear Kills

  11. 11 Nuclear Weapon Prince Far I 3:52 Buy

    Nuclear Weapon

  12. 12 Reaching The Bad Man Singers & Players 8:42 Buy

    Reaching The Bad Man

  13. 13 In A Trap African Head Charge 4:14 Buy

    In A Trap

  14. 14 Private Armies Dub Vivien Goldman 4:39 Buy

    Private Armies Dub

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences